Do You Still Need a CCW Permit in Arizona?

May 11th, 20107 Comments

Now that the Governor has passed the Constitutional Carry Bill in Arizona, that means you don’t need to bother getting a CCW permit.

Right?

Maybe and maybe not.

With the passage of SB 1108, the Constitutional Carry Bill, Arizona became the third state to allow its citizens to legally carry a concealed weapon without a state issued permit.  However, there are still some restrictions:

  • Individual must be 21 years of age (you can open carry if you are 18 or older)
  • Can not be a prohibited individual (declared mentally incompetent, a convicted felon, not a US citizen, etc)
  • CCW is mandated by law (ie. establishments that serve alcohol)

In other words, if you can legally own a gun in Arizona then you can legally carry it concealed.  So why should you still get a CCW permit?  Here are four reasons:

  1. You want to be able to carry concealed in restaurants that serve alcohol or in bars (provided they are not posted as restricting weapons).  Just remember, you can’t drink while you are carrying!
  2. You have a need to carry concealed in other states that honor Arizona’s CCW permit.
  3. CCW permit holders are exempt from the Brady background check when purchasing weapons.
  4. If you ever end up in court, you want to show that you made every effort to be a highly trained, qualified, and responsible citizen.

Personally, I think that anyone who plans to carry a weapon should take a class that covers both weapons safety and the applicable Arizona laws.  Gun ownership is your right as an American citizen, but that right carries with it the obligation to get educated and trained.

For more information or to sign up for a class contact FMI today.

© 2010 – 2012, mjshozda. All rights reserved.

5 Responses to “Do You Still Need a CCW Permit in Arizona?”

  1. Lisa Q. says:

    Hey Matt,

    Thanks for clarifying. I knew there had been a change but did not understand it. Do you know what I have to do to renew my CCW? I look forward to taking one (or more) of your classes.
    Thanks!

  2. mjshozda says:

    The latest guidance from DPS is at THIS LINK.

    Basically, they will send you the application 90 days from expiration. You send it back with the check and they send you a new permit. The refresher class and fingerprints are no longer required!

  3. […] I don't believe you even need one down there unless you want to carry out of state or something. Do You Still Need an Arizona CCW Permit? | Firearms Mastery __________________ Mustang Guides Most Awesome Guys Ever Crew Founder & Only Member… […]

  4. Justin says:

    is there any change in the 2012 gun laws? im hearing many different things but i understand you can carry concealed but do you need a permit to be able to open carry now?

  5. mjshozda says:

    Justin, The open carry laws have not changed. You do not need a permit to carry either open or concealed as long as you are not a prohibited possessor. You can read my post on the Arizona gun law changes HERE.

  6. nestor says:

    hooray arizonians, i shudda move to az. sun and gun, screw CA!!!

  7. […] Skip your Utah CCW class with the Arizona Non-Resident Multi-State Permit – Online Carry TrainingClass G Security License in FloridaIllinois Concealed Carry and CCW Permit Information Illinois Concealed CarryDo You Still Need an Arizona CCW Permit? | FMI Training […]

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.